1st MENA Trade Workshop

Tunisia - 2 June 2015

Trade topics: SMEs, Trade Policy

This workshop is organized by the World Trade Organization Chair at Tunis Business School in partnership with the University of Tunis, World Trade Organization and the Trade Practice at the World Bank. It aims to bring together leading researchers from around the world, young researchers and PhD students in particular from the MENA region.

The keynote speakers are Alan Deardorff, Associate Dean of the Ford School, John W. Sweetland Professor of International Economics, and Professor of public policy and Lionel Fontagné, Professor of economics at the Paris School of Economics, Université Paris I Panthéon Sorbonne, Director of the Centre d’Economie de la Sorbonne (CES, Paris) and Scientific Advisor at CEPII, in charge of Trade Policy.

The organizers welcome papers on analysis at the firm level of issues including firm heterogeneity in developing countries, gains from trade, effects on firms of trade agreements, product quality, duration of trade, market structure, inequality and trade, political economy of trade and dynamics of MENA trade.

The workshop will last a day and half. It will conclude with a policy round table in presence of leading researchers, policy makers and entrepreneurs. The results of the International Trade Centre flagship publication on “SME, Trade and Development” will be presented by Marion Jansen, Chief Economist at the International Trade Centre, and discussed during the round table.

Instructions for authors
All authors are asked to submit a full paper and /or an extended abstract in pdf format only. The extended abstract (maximum 1000 words) should be submitted in English and should clearly state the research question, policy relevance of the papers, the methodology and data used (if appropriate) . The author making the submission must provide the full names, affiliations, and email addresses of all coauthors for each submission. Please note that each individual may present only one paper during the conference, though they may be listed as a co-author on multiple papers.

Submissions to be sent to: menatradeworkshop@gmail.com

Important dates
9th of March 2015: Deadline for submitting papers
6th of April 2015: Notification of paper acceptance
22nd of April: Final version and author registration
2-3 June 2015: Date of the workshop

Scientific Committee
Alan Deardorff, Ford School of Public Policy, University of Michigan
Lionel Fontagné, Paris School of Economics and University of Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne
Ana Margarida Fernandes, Trade and Integration Unit, World Bank
Mariem Malouche, Trade Practice, World Bank
Mustapha Sadni Jallab, Institute of Training and Technical Cooperation, World Trade Organization
Habib Zitouna, Tunisian Institute for Competitiveness and Quantitative Studies and University of Carthage