



AGENDA

WTO Chairs Annual Conference 2017

6-7 December 2017

Buenos Aires, Argentina

Introduction

The WTO Chairs Programme (WCP), launched in 2010, aims to enhance knowledge and understanding of the multilateral trading system among academics and students in developing countries through teaching, research and outreach activities in academic institutions. The programme has been successful in the publication of research papers, the launch of diploma and master's degree programmes, and promoting greater interaction among the WTO Chairs and national trade authorities.

The WTO Chairs Annual Conference of 2017 will take stock of the work undertaken by the 19 active WTO Chairs in 2016-17, identify the main achievements and challenges encountered in the delivery of activities, and the future direction of the programme. It will also highlight research conducted by the WTO Chairs on trade and poverty, promoting connectivity and trade behind the headlines.

Session 1 of the conference will report on the third year of activities on research, curriculum development and outreach conducted by Phase I and II Chairs. Sessions 2 to 4 will be interactive sessions among the Chairs, Advisory Board members and the Secretariat focusing on best practices, lessons learned and how the Chairs can sustain their activities after the programme ends. Session 5 will discuss matters from the last annual conference, including the WCP e-platform, the evaluation of the WCP, and start discussions about the future direction of the WTO Chairs Programme. Sessions 6 to 8 will feature selected research papers by WCP Chairs on a number of trade-related topics with Advisory Board Members serving as discussants.





WTO Chairs Programme

Buenos Aires, Argentina

6 December 2017

OPENING SESSION: 2017 WCP Conference

09:00 - 09:10	Welcome Remarks
	Luis Alberto Quevedo, FLACSO Director
09:10 - 09:25	Opening Remarks
	High level official, Argentina, TBC
	High Level Official, Netherlands, TBC
09:25 - 09:40	Introduction to the programme and objective of the conference
	Mr. Robert Koopman, Director, Economic Research and Statistics Division
	Opening Remarks High level official, Argentina, TBC High Level Official, Netherlands, TBC Introduction to the programme and objective of the conference

9:40 - 10:00 Coffee

The first session will take stock of the work undertaken by the Phase I and II Chairs on the basis of the annual reports on the implementation of their 2016-2017 work programmes.

SESSION 1	
Chair: Mr R	obert Koopman, Director, Economic Research and Statistics Division
10:00 - 11:15	Overview of WCP activities (Phase I and II) in 2016-2017 and planned activities

Presentation by WTO Secretariat

General discussion





The next three sessions will be interactive sessions among the Chairs (Phase I and II), AB members and the Secretariat focusing on best practices, lessons learned and how the Phase II Chairs plan to sustain their activities after the funding ends.

SESSION 2

Chair: Mr Robert Teh, (ERSD)

11:15 – 12:30 Best practices, Lessons Learned and Ensuring Sustainability: Research Pillar

Panellists:

- Ms Vera Thorstensen, Getulio Vargas Foundation
- Mr Houcine Boughanmi, Sultan Qaboos University
- Mr Keith Nurse, University of the West Indies
- Ms Dorotea Lopez Giral, University of Chile
- Mr Michael Ewing-Chow, National University of Singapore
- Ms Tabitha Kiriti Nganga, University of Nairobi
- Mr Aly Ahmadou Mbaye, Cheikh Anta Diop University

General discussion

12:30 - 14:00 Lunch

SESSION 3

Chair: Mr Mustapha Sadni Jallab (ITTC)

14:00 – 15:15 Best practices, Lessons Learned and Ensuring Sustainability: Curriculum Pillar

Panellists:

- Ms Leila Baghdadi, Tunis Business School
- Ms Pinar Artiran, Bilgi University
- Mr Riza Noer Arfani, Universitas Gadjah Mada
- Mr Taleb Awad Warrad, University of Jordan
- Ms Valentina Delich, Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales
- Mr Azzedine Ghoufrane, Mohammed V University-Souissi

General discussion





15:15 - 15:45 Coffee

SESSION 4

Chair: Ms Fatima Chaudri (ITTC)

15:45 – 17:00 Best practices, Lessons Learned and Ensuring Sustainability: Outreach Pillar

Panellists:

- Mr Charlemagne Babatoundé Igue, Université d'Abomey-Calavi
- Ms Wilma Viviers, North West University
- Mr Boopen Seetanah, University of Mauritius
- Mr Sergei Sutyrin, St. Petersburg State University
- Mr Lei Zhang, Shanghai University of International Business and Economics
- Mr Bradley Condon, Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México

General discussion

Session 5 will discuss matters from the last annual conference, including the WCP e-platform, the evaluation of the WCP, and the future direction of the WTO Chairs Programme.

SESSION 5

Chair: Mr Maarten Smeets (ITTC)

17:00 – 18:00 Matters from the Last Annual Conference/Future Directions





Day 2: WCP Conference

Buenos Aires, Argentina

7 December 2017

Sessions 6-8 will feature selected research papers by WCP Chairs on a number of trade-related topics with Advisory Board Members serving as discussants.

SESSION 6

- Chair: Mr Robert Koopman (WTO)
- 08:30 10:45 Trade and Poverty

Presentation by selected Chairs

- Mr Charlemagne Babatoundé Igue, Université d'Abomey-Calavi
- Mr Taleb Awad Warrad, University of Jordan
- Ms Leila Baghdadi, Tunis Business School

Discussants:

- Mr Stephen Karingi, Advisory Board Member
- Ms Trudy Hartzenberg, Advisory Board Member

General discussion

SESSION 7

Chair: Mr Robert Teh (ERSD)

10:45 – 13:00 Promoting Connectivity

Presentation by selected Chairs

- Ms Dorotea Lopez Giral, University of Chile
 - Mr Riza Noer Arfani, Universitas Gadjah Mada
 - Mr Azzedine Ghoufrane, Mohammed V University-Souissi
- Ms Wilma Viviers, North-West University

Discussants:

- Mr Pierre Sauvé, Advisory Board Member
- Mr Mark Wu, Advisory Board Member

General discussion





Lunch 13:00-14:30

SESSION 8	
Chair: Ms V	alentina Delich (Argentina)
14:30 - 16:45	Trade: Behind the Headlines
	Presentation by selected Chairs
	 Ms Vera Thorstensen, Getulio Vargas Foundation Ms Pinar Artiran, Bilgi University Mr Houcine Boughanmi, Sultan Qaboos University Mr Boopen Seetanah, University of Mauritius
	Discussants:
	 Mr Clemens Boonekamp, Advisory Board Member Mr Alexander Sarris, Advisory Board Member
	General discussion

Closing Session

16:45 - 17:00